Rules and Briefings
While there are no rule changes for the upcoming 2011/12 indoor hockey season, USA Field Hockey has been granted permission by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) to implement an experimental rule regarding breaking into the circle prior to the insertion of the ball on a penalty corner. This is for the 2011 indoor season only and is not a permanent rule. It will be assessed throughout the season with a full report being sent to the FIH in April at the conclusion of USA Field Hockey's National Indoor Tournaments.
THIS IS AN EXPERIMENT ONLY AND WILL BE ADMINISTERED ACCORDING TO THE PARAMETERS BELOW (for a print friendly version click here).
Breaking at Penalty Corner
Until the ball has been played, no attacker other than the one taking the push from the back-line is permitted to enter the circle and no defender is permitted to cross the back-line or center-line.
- For any offence of this rule by a defender other than the goalkeeper, the offending player(s) shall be required to go beyond the center-line and cannot be replaced by another defender
- For any offence of this rule by a defending goalkeeper, the defending team defends the penalty corner with one less player
- For an offence of this rule by an attacker who enters the circle before the ball is played, the offending player(s) shall be required to go beyond the center-line
- The player who pushes the ball from the back-line must not feint at playing the ball. For an offence of this rule the offending player shall be replaced by another attacker and must go to the center-line
- Umpires must insure that the penalty corner is set properly before allowing the insertion (a foot accidentally placed on the line and not corrected by the umpire in advance of the insertion will not constitute sending a player to the center-line)
- For ANY necessity to restart a penalty corner due to an early break into the circle or a feint by the inserter, someone MUST go to the center-line
- When multiple players break into the circle prior to the insertion, one and only one player entered the circle first. The umpire must make a decision and send only one player, the player who entered the circle first, to the center-line
- When a player is sent to the center-line, he or she may come back into the half of the pitch in which the penalty corner is taking place after the ball has been inserted
- If during a penalty corner another penalty corner is awarded (a contiguous penalty corner), all players sent to the center-line for offenses during the original penalty corner must return to the center-line for the contiguous penalty corner(s)
- The umpire in charge of administering the penalty corner is solely responsible for all decisions on the attackers or defenders breaking into the circle too soon and faints by the inserter
- If a team chooses to defend a penalty corner with less than the full number of players behind the back-line and the team breaches this rule, the team MUST defend the penalty corner, and any contiguous penalty corners, with one less player than the team originally positioned behind the back-line
ADVERTISEMENT: Don't let bad boards ruin the indoor game! Click here to visit Side-Boards.com
Copyright © 2002-
Top of Page